Home News Warne picks Australia’s playing XI for pink-ball affair against India

Warne picks Australia’s playing XI for pink-ball affair against India

After India arrived in Australia, there were a lot of expectations from the visitors. Fans were also expecting Virat Kohli & Co to pull off spectacular wins in the limited-overs series. However, as it turned out, the end result was disappointing for the Indians in the ODI series.

The Men in Blue lost the 50-over format by 1-2. However, they responded quite strongly in the shortest format of the game. They won the T20I series by 2-1 and proved themselves worthy of being a world-class team. The action shifts to the upcoming four-match Test series.

Also Read – Nehra picks India’s opening combination versus Australia

The first match of the Border Gavaskar Trophy series will be played at Adelaide Oval on December 17. The opening Test is going to be a day-night pink-ball affair. Players of both teams are gearing up for the first match. Earlier, India and Australia A played two practise games.

Both games ended in a draw. It will be quite interesting to see which team gets the better of the other in the first Test. Australian team management is facing opening conundrum for the first Test. David Warner has already backed out of the first Test due to groin injury.

Warner is recovering from the injury and is expected to be back for the second Test at MCG on December 26. The 22-year-old Will Pucovski picked up concussion injury in 1st practice game and will miss the game. Cameron Green also sustained the same injury in 2nd practice game.

Shane Warne picks Australia’s playing XI:

Former Australian legendary leg-spinner Warne has picked Australia’s playing XI for the opening Test against India. The bowling great took to his official Twitter handle and listed 11 players while also pointing out that Burns is out of form. “My test team for Adelaide now that Burns looks horribly out of form and injuries to Warner & young Pucovski. Fingers crossed Green will be ok,” Warne added.

Matthew Wade, Marcus Harris, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Cameron Green, Tim Paine (c & wk), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood

Australia vs India 2020-21 Tests full schedule

Dec 17, Thu – Dec 21, Australia vs India, 1st Test Adelaide Oval, Adelaide 9:30 AM

Dec 26, Sat – Dec 30, Australia vs India, 2nd Test, Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne 5:00 AM

Jan 07, Thu – Jan 11, Australia vs India, 3rd Test Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney 5:00 AM

Jan 15, Fri – Jan 19, Australia vs India, 4th Test The Gabba, Brisbane 5:30 AM

Australia cricket team Test squad:

Tim Paine (c), Sean Abbott, Joe Burns, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Will Pucovski, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));