Home News Magical Mahedi hands Rajshahi last over win

Magical Mahedi hands Rajshahi last over win

T20 cricket returns to Bangladesh as Bangabandhu T20 Cup 2020 kicks off. Minister Group Rajshahi have defeated Beximco Dhaka by 2 runs in the opening match at Shere Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Mirpur.

Mahedi hits on his way to fifty.


The tournament was inaugurated by the BCB (Bangladesh Cricket Board) President Nazmul Hassan Papon before the start of the play.

Also Read – Rohit and Ishant likely to miss the Test series

Beximco Dhaka opted to bowl first after winning the toss. Pacer Rubel Hossain had a good start with the ball, giving away only one run in the first over.

23-year-old Anisul Islam Emon hit flurry of boundaries in the powerplay. However, Rajshahi’s batting order collapsed to 65/5 in 9.4 overs. Anisul departed scoring an impressive 23-ball 35. Skipper Najmul Hossain Shanto made run-a-ball 17. While, Mohammad Ashraful (5) had to depart after Naim Sheikh took a screamer at point off Muktar Ali’s delivery.

Mahedi Hasan took the control of the game with Nurul Hasan Sohan. The duo put on a power hitting display in 89-run stand. Mahedi scored his fourth T20 fifty, 50 off 32 balls including 3 fours and 4 sixes. Sohan scored 39 off 20 with 2 fouds and 3 sixes.

Minister Group Rajshahi posted 169/9 on board after an early collapse. Muktar Ali was the pick of the bowlers for his 3 for 22.

In reply, Dhaka lost three early wickets. Tanzid Hasan Tamim, who made 18 off 11, was the first to go. Tamim was run out at the non-striker’s end where Ebadat Hossain blocked his way.

Mahedi got amongst the wickets after a brisk knock, dismissing Yasir Ali for 9. Naim Sheikh (26 off 17) made a promising start with the bat until his one-handed shot to mid-wicket handed a wicket to Arafat Sunny.

Skipper Mushfiqur Rahim and Akbar Ali, the U19 World Cup winning captain, brought the game back to Dhaka’s way. While Mushfiqur kept on playing innovative shots, Akbar had played proper cricketing shots.

The 71-run partnership for the fourth wicket was broken by Farhad Reza in the 16th over. Akbar departed scoring 34 from 29 balls. Ebadat scalped the big wicket of Mushfiqur, who made 34-ball 41, in the next over which shifted the momentum towards Rajshahi.

The asking rate was rising at the back end of the match. Muktar, who came into bat at No.7, hit Farhad Reza for three sixes in the penultimate over. 21 runs from the 19th over left Dhaka requiring 9 from the final over.

The first three bowls from Mahedi went for dots. Muktar hit the fourth for a boundary. The game took another twist with Mahedi bowling a no ball. Muktar could not make any use of the free hit as it all went down to 4 off the last ball. Mahedi restricted Muktar for just a single to give Rajshahi a thrilling 2-run win.

Brief scores:

Minister Group Rajshahi 169/9 in 20 overs (Mahedi 50, Sohan 39, Anisul 35; Muktar 3/22)

Beximco Dhaka 167/5 in 20 overs (Mushfiqur 41, Akbar 34, Muktar 27*; Mahedi 1/22)

Minister Group Rajshahi won by 2 runs

Man of the Match: Mahedi Hasan

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));