Home News Gavaskar names ideal batting position for Rahane after Kohli goes away

Gavaskar names ideal batting position for Rahane after Kohli goes away

Indian captain Virat Kohli is currently in Australia prepping for the forthcoming Test series. Under his captaincy, India won the T20I series in Australia for the first time. Ahead of the T20I series, the visitors lost the ODI series by 1-2. The first Test is scheduled to be played at The Adelaide Oval on December 17, in what is going to be a day-night pink-ball affair.

After the conclusion of the Test opener, Virat Kohli will return home to be with his wife. The power couple are expecting the birth of their new child in early January. The star cricketer will be missing the last three Test matches of the Border Gavaskar Trophy. In his absence, Ajinkya Rahane will lead India from the front.

Also Read – Mahmudullah among top cricketers in local 100-ball tournament

Kohli’s absence will leave a huge void in Team India’s batting line-up. It will be a huge conundrum for the team management to find the right batsman who can play at this position. Ahead of the Test series, there are various reports on who would come to bat at No.4 after Kohli’s exit.

During an important discussion with Ricky Ponting on 7 Cricket, Sunil Gavaskar revealed who will bat at No.4 after Kohli goes away. According to the former India batting great, Rahane will take the No.4 spot. Gavaskar further added that KL Rahul or Shubman Gill can get an opportunity to play at No. 5 for India in Test cricket.

“Virat’s obviously there only for the first Test then you’d expect Rahane to take over (as captain) but they (India) have to find someone to bat at No.4. Who do you expect to take that No.4 spot?” – Ponting asked Gavaskar.

“It looks to me it could be KL Rahul. Or no, actually I think Rahane will go at No.4 once Virat goes away. Then you might have Rahul bat at No.5 or Shubman Gill,” the former India skipper added.


Dec 17, Thu – Dec 21, Australia vs India, 1st Test Adelaide Oval, Adelaide 9:30 AM

Dec 26, Sat – Dec 30, Australia vs India, 2nd Test, Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne 5:00 AM

Jan 07, Thu – Jan 11, Australia vs India, 3rd Test Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney 5:00 AM

Jan 15, Fri – Jan 19, Australia vs India, 4th Test The Gabba, Brisbane 5:30 AM

India cricket team Test squad:

Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice-captain), Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Mohd. Siraj.

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));