Home News Five cricketers released from SL Test squad

Five cricketers released from SL Test squad

Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis and three other players have been released from Sri Lanka squad and the biosecure bubble ahead of their second Test against England in Galle.

According to a press release by Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) on Tuesday (January 19), Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis, Minod Bhanuka, Lahiru Kumara, and Nuwan Pradeep will head home on the same day.

Also Read – Tigers to take a knee during West Indies series

Later the released players will return to training at the High-Performance Center in Colombo.

It has been learnt that the reason behind Dimuth Karunaratne’s release is injury. In absence of him, Dinesh Chandimal will continue to captain the team in the 2nd Test as well.

Mendis, on the other hand, has been ruled out due to poor form. The cricketer has four consecutive ducks and a 15 in his last five innings. Roshen Silva is likely to replace him.

Meanwhile, Suranga Lakmal is expected to be full fir for the second Test, and Sri Lanka hope no other frontline seamers may be required, as they will want to play three spinners and one pacer.

However, pacers Asitha Fernando (who played the first Test), Vishwa Fernando, and Dushmantha Chameera will remain with the squad.

The second Test will begin in Galle on Friday (January 22). England beat the hosts by seven wickets in the first match.

Sri Lanka squad (announced before the series): 

Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Minod Bhanuka, Dushmantha Chameera, Dinesh Chandimal, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Lasith Embuldeniya, Asitha Fernando, Oshada Fernando, Vishwa Fernando, Santhush Gunathilake, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lahiru Kumara, Suranga Lakmal, Dilshan Madushanka, Angelo Mathews, Dilruwan Perera, Kasun Rajitha, Dasun Shanaka, Lahiru Thirimanne


(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));