Home News England announces playing XI for 2nd Test versus Sri Lanka

England announces playing XI for 2nd Test versus Sri Lanka

England arrived in Sri Lanka to play the two-match Test series at Galle International Stadium. The first match has already been done and dusted. While the hosts were expected to pose a threat to the visitors, the end result was quite the opposite.

It was the tourists that dictated terms in the Test opener as they won by 7 wickets to take the first lead in the series. Meanwhile, Sri Lanka still have a mountain to climb in terms of performances as they should be doing better at their den.

Also Read – Kevin Pietersen warns Team India ahead of England series

They have never lost twice in a row at Galle and the upcoming Test will be quite interesting as England will aim for a series win. On the other hand, Sri Lanka will look to restore lost pride at home by beating the visitors. The second Test will take place on January 22 (Friday).

Joe Root was named the man of the match for his incredible double century. Jack Leach performed well in the first Test as he took 5 wickets to his name. During a recent interaction, the left-arm spinner opened up that he really hopes to play as many games as possible.

“It’s nice to get five [wickets] and I feel I’ve got better as the game has gone on, which is a good sign. I had sepsis in New Zealand [in November 2019], so that wasn’t a great time for me, and then went to South Africa and picked up illness there.

It was a tough time so it’s been about building back up slowly, and I think I am over that now. Hopefully now is about getting as much cricket in as possible. If I’m healthy and fit and able to play, that’s the main thing, because I don’t take that for granted,” Leach was quoted saying by the County Gazette.

England’s playing XI:

Dom Sibley, Zak Crawley, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root (captain), Dan Lawrence, Jos Buttler (wicketkeeper), Sam Curran, Dom Bess, Jack Leach, Mark Wood, James Anderson.

After the end of the Test series, England will fly to India for a full-fledged tour. The England team management has announced the squad for the first two Tests against India. The likes of all-rounder Ben Stokes and fast bowler Jofra Archer return to the squad for the first two Tests.

The tour kicks off on February 5 as India and England will lock horns with each other at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai.

England Men’s Test Squad:

Joe Root (captain), Jofra Archer, Moeen Ali, James Anderson, Dom Bess, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Zak Crawley, Ben Foakes, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Dom Sibley, Ben Stokes, Olly Stone, Chris Woakes.

Reserves: James Bracey, Mason Crane, Saqib Mahmood, Matthew Parkinson, Ollie Robinson, Amar Virdi.

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));