Home News Chetan Sharma pips Ajit Agarkar to become chief selector; Abey Kuruvilla and...

Chetan Sharma pips Ajit Agarkar to become chief selector; Abey Kuruvilla and Debashish Mohanty too appointed selectors | Cricket News

NEW DELHI: The Indian cricket board (BCCI) on Thursday has appointed former India pacers Chetan Sharma, Abey Kuruvilla and Debashish Mohanty as national selectors. Chetan Sharma will replace Sunil Joshi as the chairman of the senior national selection committee. Joshi and Harvinder Singh, who were appointed as selectors in February this year, will continue in their roles.
Chetan Sharma, Kuruvilla and Mohanty will represent north, west and east zones. TOI understands the Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC), comprising Madan Lal, RP Singh and Sulakshana Naik had a tough time choosing between former India pacer Ajit Agarkar and Chetan as the chief selector. Mohanty has been promoted to the senior committee from being the chief selector of the junior committee. Interestingly, the committee will be reviewed by CAC after a year even as they are eligible for a tenure of at least three years.

TOI had reported on Nov 15 that Mohanty could be a surprise entry and that could lead to another aspirant Ranadeb Bose finding a place in the junior selection committee.

Chetan Sharma was appointed as the chief selector as he played more number of Test matches than the others in the panel. Agarkar has played 191 ODIs and 26 Tests whereas Chetan has played 23 Tests and 65 ODIs. Kuruvilla has played 10 Tests and 25 ODIs while Mohanty has represented India in two Tests and 45 ODIs.