Home News Chattogram pick seventh win, Rajshahi await play-off confirmation

Chattogram pick seventh win, Rajshahi await play-off confirmation

Gazi Group Chattogram have picked their seventh win in Bangabandhu T20 Cup. They have beaten Minister Group Rajshahi by 36 runs in their last league stage match at Mirpur.

Rajshahi, who started the tournament with two wins, have been struck with a sixth consecutive defeat. They will now have to await the result of Beximco Dhaka vs Fortune Barishal in the evening to find if they are going to make into the play-offs

Also Read – Dravid and Kumble disclose their predictions ahead of Australia vs India Test series

Chattogram openers Liton Das and Soumya Sarkar made a pulsating start after being put into bat. Liton, who made return into the XI after a rest, scored his third half-century of the tournament. His mate Soumya scored back to back fifties.

The opening stand put on 122 runs in 14.5 overs as part-time medium pacer Anisul Islam Emon broke the partnership. The middle-order could not capitalise on the start until seamer Rezaur Rahman Raja bowled two high no-balls, both went for sixes by Shamsur Rahman, in the 19th over which got him ruled out lf the bowling.

Shamsur’s cameo 18-ball 30* helped Chattogram regain momentum to post 175/4. Soumya top-scored with 48-ball 63, clobbering 4 sixes and 3 fours. Liton played 43 balls for his 55, including 5 fours and a maximum.

Surprisingly, Anisul was the pick of the Rajshahi bowlers for his 2/21 in 3.3 overs.

In reply, spinner Nahidul Islam aided Chattogram a perfect start with the ball. He sent back the top-order men – Anisul (4), Najmul Hossain Shanto (11) and Rony Talukdar (16) inside the powerplay.

The midde-order failed to cope up with the pressure despite Nurul Hasan Sohan (28) and Mahedi Hasan’s (26) efforts.

Chattogram restricted Rajshahi to 139/8, clinching yet another victory to finish with 14 points on the table.

Brief scores:

Gazi Group Chattogram 175/4 in 20 overs (Soumya 63, Liton 55, Shamsur 30*; Anisul 2/21)

Minister Group Rajshahi 139/8 in 20 overs (Sohan 28; Nahidul 3/19, Ziaur 2/17, Mustafizur 1/23) 

Gazi Group Chattogram won by 36 runs

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));