Home News 2021’s Super 12s automatically qualify for 2022 T20 WC

2021’s Super 12s automatically qualify for 2022 T20 WC

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the qualification pathway to the 2022 ICC T20 World Cup in Australia.

86 teams will fight for the 15 spots for the 2022 event scheduled from October to November 13. Hosts Australia are guaranteed a spot.

Also Read – Jaffer gives perfect reply to Sri Lankan fan over Australia vs India tweet

Apart from Australia, the other top 11 teams from the 2021 T20 World Cup will find places in 2022. Initially, Australia were scheduled to host the Men’s event in 2020 but that was postponed due to COVID-19. India will be hosting the 7th edition before Australia gets the 8th.

The 2021 participating teams are: Australia, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Oman, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka and West Indies.

Australia, Afghanistan, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa and West Indies are already guaranteed a spot in 2022 as they are in the Super 12 slots for 2021. Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Ireland, Namibia, Netherlands, Oman, Papua New Guinea and Scotland will compete for rest of the four slots in Super 12s.

Nepal, Singapore, UAE and Zimbabwe will meet lowest-ranked four teams of 2021 to lock horns in Qualifier in February 2022.



“We are delighted to announce qualification for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia in 2022. The pathway which culminates in the eighth Men’s T20 World Cup which will be held in Australia, sees the likes of Hungary, Romania and Serbia competing for the first time in an ICC event of this format, highlighting the increased competitiveness within Associate Members.

“In addition, a remarkable 225 Men’s T20 Internationals are scheduled to be played providing a substantial number of playing opportunities to all Members,” Chris Tetley, ICC Head of Events, said.

West Indies won the previous Men’s edition in 2016 which was staged in India. The Women’s T20 World Cup took place in West Indies in 2018 and in Australia in 2020. Australia won the trophy on both occasions.

(function(d, s, id) {
var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0];
if (d.getElementById(id)) return;
js = d.createElement(s);
js.id = id;
js.src = “http://connect.facebook.net/en_US/sdk.js#xfbml=1&version=v2.5”;
fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs);
}(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));